How competitive are away rotations?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DrizzyDrake

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys,

So I am currently a second year medical student. I have average grades, no fails, no honors, just average. I go to an average medical school. I am 22, and I expect to do average on my Step 1s. Maybe a little above average, but not some ridiculously high score. I did research the summer before entering MS1 and the summer between MS1 and MS2, but didn't get published.

At my school, 4th years can do away rotations and it is something that I am very interested in. I have been in the same city now for many years and have grown tired of it. I really would like to do an away rotation in NYC or Boston or even LA. All my friends went to colleges there and I want a little taste of that life. In fact, it'd be a dream come true if I could spend most of my 4th year NOT at my medical school. But as I have mentioned, I am average in almost all respects. So will I not get into any?

Members don't see this ad.

Field would be nice. Native location as well. Some are super competitive and some are not. I would guess though that BMC, MGH, CHoB, BID, etc are competitive in most fields. Plus the COL there is ridiculous!

Hey guys,

So I am currently a second year medical student. I have average grades, no fails, no honors, just average. I go to an average medical school. I am 22, and I expect to do average on my Step 1s. Maybe a little above average, but not some ridiculously high score. I did research the summer before entering MS1 and the summer between MS1 and MS2, but didn't get published.