How competitive of an adult or pediatric neurology candidate am I? (Md/PhD)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MdPhD86

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I'd like to get advice from people who have recently matched into adult or pediatric neurology as to how competitive of a candidate I am for either of these specialties.

I am an MD/PhD student at one of the top 15 medical schools in the US. My PhD is in neuroscience and I am considering going into adult or pediatric neurology. Location is really important to me because I want to be in a place where my husband (a software engineer) can easily get a job he likes, and I'd like to be in a city.

I performed average in medical school, didn't honor any of the courses during first and second year. My step 1 score is very low (218). I will probably come out of my PhD (which is with a fairly well known researcher in the field) with two first authored papers (one in a fairly high tier journal (JNeurosci), one in a smaller journal) and one first authored review (in a mid-tier journal).

I am not so concerned with matching into a highly-ranked program as matching into a decent program in a city that I like (Seattle, Texas, Chicago, DC, San Francisco are high on my list). Most people I talk to say that the PhD will really help, and perhaps make up for my boards score, but I am dubious. I'm wondering whether a solid step 2 score and good grades during third and fourth year will make me a fairly competitive candidate for adult or pediatric neurology or if I'm doomed because of my low step 1 score. Any advice people can provide will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!!!

Members don't see this ad.

Agree with neurologist.

A PhD covers a multitude of sins. And honestly, I don't think your Step 1 is bad in the first place.