How consistent are your private practice hours?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Psychresy

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm just starting out on my own. I'm currently going through the paneling process with a big payor in my area. I am also taking cash and have a couple patients lined up so far. In my ideal world, I would be doing 18 hours of outpatient a week (3x6 hour days - anything more than 6 hours of outpatient and I'm too drained).

For those further down the path, how consistent are your weekly hours week over week? Are you generally around your ideal work load or is it a week of 5 hours followed by a week of 25?

Once I fill up (I'm imagining 6-9 months) should I expect to be able to get pretty close to my desired weekly hours each week? To that point, how do you correlate desired weekly hours to the practice being full and closed to new patients? As in, how many patients will I need to have on my panel to fill 18 hours each week?

Any other tips to manage work flow and overall work load? I would rather over schedule than under schedule and not be filling enough hours each week but I don't want to go overkill either.

Members don't see this ad.

I’ve never closed to new patients. Patients move, change insurance, taper off meds, transfer to PCP, etc. Availability to be seen within 1-2 months just fluctuates.

If my clinical hours was set at 18 per week, I’d expect to work 16-22/week after ramping up. There are cancellations or random slow weeks that drop the number a bit. Then there are “full moons” where I’ve got 4+ urgent cases to fit in that week. Sometimes a good local referral source asks me to fit in a new patient. Working an extra hour here and there keeps the referral sources happy.

Reactions: 9 users
Members don't see this ad :)
Aiming for the 30min f/u em+90833