How did people study for the Advanced exam?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ToKingdomCome

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
How did people study for it? For those who recently took it, how was it?

Members don't see this ad.

Do all the UBP (Ultimate Board Prep), then do ABA Mock Oral exams with a friend. Make sure its over facetime or in person to make it realistic. If you have a commute or go to the gym I recommend just streaming through all the University of Kentucky Anesthesia videos on youtube. They have a bunch of keywords and topic lectures that are really well laid out and good review for background learning. I studied personally for about a month and a half.
Sir this is a Wendy’s.

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
How did people study for it? For those who recently took it, how was it?
It’s a very random exam. And honestly, I didn’t think TrueLearn was enough to cover enough of the materIal so that I felt confident about it.

I ended up doing PassMachine qBank (my program bought us a subscription) and Hall in addition to TrueLearn. I had questions left over from my ITE bank and did those as well.

Didn’t feel horrible walking out for once so that was a plus. Maybe it was overkill, but it worked.

Took it last summer (July 2021). I did all of TrueLearn (ITE + Advanced) and supplemented with ACCRAC podcasts and a few selective chapters in baby Miller. Passed on first try.

I used truelearn, that’s it, felt prepared

I just listened to accrac and random readings on my patients, no question bank or dedicated study time. I did use truelearn for the basic.

TrueLearn is definitely not comprehensive enough. It's probably enough to squeak out a pass, but some very esoteric questions now that they know trulearn doesn't cover.