How did you know you wanted to be a dentist? what reasons?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

EstherB

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello

I'm a Pre-Dent student majoring in Business minor in Entrepreneurship. I am married and have 2 kids....I'm in the process of completing my pre-reqs and I just keep thinking WHY do I want to be a dentist? Out of all things? My situation is a little difficult. I basically have to do Chem 1 + 2 over the summer so I can do Physics and Inorganic Chem next year and take the DAT over the summer. Otherwise I'll have to wait 2 more years to take the DAT but I'll almost be done with school. I'm a little nervous about condensing Chem into that short period.... also, I reallllllly need to get into 1 school in particular-Nova. I'm in central FL but I'm Jewish and my kids need a Jewish school, community, nanny, etc. So it's not possible for me to just move ANYWHERE....

and I keep thinking - what if I finally get there and I decide that sitting hunched over patients all day in their mouths just isn't for me?

I started out as a Pre-Arch student because I'm super creative and have good handskills - and I love science so that's how I came to thinking about dentistry. Also, I'm always at the dentist due to my genetically horrible teeth. Not aesthetically just prone to cavities. Anyways, I've been comfortable in that chair ever since I was 4 years old and found it fascinating. So I would love to get into cosmetic dentistry and perhaps practice that solely.

I guess my question is - were you guys dead set on being dentists? How do you know? Who can I talk to? I feel like I'm at a cross roads, I need to know if to keep wasting my semesters on science courses or to just drop it and find another rewarding career. HELP!

Members don't see this ad.