Jul 23, 2009
Status
Hi All,

I will keep this short and to the point. I am a recent graduate with a BS in chemistry. I am now pursuing medicine and have been doing a lot of research on post bac pre med programs. I was looking for any kind of feedback as to what kind of programs I would best be suited for, solely based on my academic coursework background. Obviously with my chem degree I took gen chem, orgo and physics. I do not have any biology, psychology, anatomy, etc. I have read that some programs can be very personalized, while others have a more strict/guided curriculum. I was assuming that I would be best fit for the programs that are more personalized where I could really focus on other science areas that I am missing for medical school.

Any kind of feedback would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks for your time.

NewmansOwn

10+ Year Member
Dec 21, 2007
Status
Attending Physician
Hi All,

I will keep this short and to the point. I am a recent graduate with a BS in chemistry. I am now pursuing medicine and have been doing a lot of research on post bac pre med programs. I was looking for any kind of feedback as to what kind of programs I would best be suited for, solely based on my academic coursework background. Obviously with my chem degree I took gen chem, orgo and physics. I do not have any biology, psychology, anatomy, etc. I have read that some programs can be very personalized, while others have a more strict/guided curriculum. I was assuming that I would be best fit for the programs that are more personalized where I could really focus on other science areas that I am missing for medical school.

Any kind of feedback would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks for your time.
The only prerequisite you haven't taken is biology, so you're ineligible for the formal postbac programs that offer the support you speak of.