How do I go back to undergrad?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

maymagpie

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

Firstly I apologize for naive questions I maybe asking but I really need some advise as I have been speaking to admissions officer and feel more and more confused about what I am meant to do.

A little background: I am 26 years old, always wanted to be a doctor but followed my other passion and went to Acting school in London. I realize that this was a mistake and I really want to take steps to become a doctor.

I graduated with a BA in Acting, in England, no GED all performance. I have been told by post bacc programs that I should pursue a second undergrad degree.

If I were to do so I guess I would have to start a community college and transfer to a 4 year university. This would allow me to start ASAP. But do med school really frown upon starting at community college? and will this jeopardize all my chances of ever getting in?

I have excellent highschool grades and so I assume I could apply to a 4 year college. how would I: "start over"?

I'm volunteering at a clinic, love it and feel there must be someway that I can go about making this happen!

Any advise would be deeply appreciated!

Members don't see this ad.

What state are you in? Imho, the college you transfer to may be more important than the fact that you took some of your pre-reqs at a cc. In the case of going to a 2 yr and then transferring on to a 4-yr, I don't think the fact you took cc classes matters all that much.

Will anything in your acting degree transfer here to the states? Any gen eds maths, humanities, ect?

Members don't see this ad :)
I had no gen ed classes, only theatre, acting, voice etc and I guess my degree is the equivalent of a BFA here.