MD & DO How do I look?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

WHSH_RNtoMD

Reaction score
Hello and thank you for looking at this post.First a little background about myself:
I have been working full time as a nurse since I graduated with my BSN in 2016. When I became comfortable with my job I decided I wanted to do more and enrolled in courses for summer 2017. I became complacent in nursing school and got the passing minimum. I have since realized that a lot of information i deemed unimportant I am having to relearn on my own. Learning from my prior mistakes I have been the top 1-2 scorer in all my classes after returning to school.

My current stats: (also not sure if it matters, in nursing school 80-83 is a C+ which is why my GPA tanked)

-cGPA-3.30
-sGPA-3.53
-Post-Bacc GPA 3.96 (bio1,2; orgo1,2; phys1,2; calc)
-MCAT: 493(123/124/124/122);504 (125/127/127/125)
-RN hours (only experience no research)- >4000 hours
-LOR's - 2 MD's that have high opinions of me
-1 nursing teacher and orgo + bio teachers which both liked me

Also on the note of the MCAT when I originally took it I essentially when in to get a score so that I could apply (on 2 weeks of studying, no practice test [big mistake]). While this might have been a mistake I didn't expect having physics 5 days a week to be as draining as it was. I had to focus on my physics class as a big part of my post-bacc argument to adcoms was that I am now a top performer in my classes. After getting my score back I studied for 3 more weeks and was able to improve to a 504 (received Oct23).

I sent out most of my applications after the first score came back Aug 16. I finished all secondaries within a day of receiving them. I also realize that as far as II's go that if I hear anything back it will be late because of my recently improved MCAT score.

Current schools applied to:
IS (SC)
--MUSC
--USC(columbia)
--USC-Greenville
--AU (MCG)
+DO
--VCOM (SC)
OOS