how do you cope?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Sapphir3blu3

Way nontrad.
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a new tech of almost 3 months (related volunteer work for a year or two previous, though) and a pre-vet (I think!). I believed well before coming into this job that the capacity of humans for soullessness and cruelty can never be underestimated. But last week was the first time I went toe-to-toe with one of "those people" and lost.

My last patient of the day was a big handsome 2-year-old kitty. His owner said he'd disappeared for a day and a half and she finally found him in a corner of the basement in a puddle of his own pee; he was dehydrated and very lethargic; she had to pull him out. We took him in back to check out his bladder, and... urinary blockage for the win!

I walked her through a $900 estimate for an unblock, and as soon as I was done, she said, "No. No, we're not doing that." I told her that he would die of this without treatment. She said "That's OK. He's just a cat." Egads, at least *fake* a heart.

My team started looking for a way to make something happen. We sliced the crap out of that estimate, cutting corners to offer to do a semi-hack unblock for much much MUCH less and just get the cat some relief; she still said no. Another tech walked out there to show her some of the grit and the few drops of cloudy urine we'd been able to squeeze out; she still said no. I asked if she'd be willing to surrender the cat to us rather than take him home to die; she still said no. Both of our doctors went out together to further explain what was wrong and why it needed to be fixed. I explained exactly *how* the cat would die AND SHE STILL ****ING SAID NO. "Just give me my cat, we're going home."