1. Dismiss Notice
  2. Download free Tapatalk for iPhone or Tapatalk for Android for your phone and follow the SDN forums with push notifications.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

how do you decide where to apply?

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by petros, Dec 16, 2000.

1. i am applying to schools this upcoming year with a 3.8GPA/30S MCAT. I'm not a shoe in at any school, but then i don't think i am a long long long shot at too many schools either. as a california resident, i will apply to all 7 in state schools. after those, i have absolutely NO preferences. i went through a tentative list of schools i would apply to, and reached-gulp-81! would it be stupid applying to all these schools considering my stats are not spectacular and that i don't care which school i go to?

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. gower

gower 1K Member
    10+ Year Member

Applying to so many schools is ridiculous.

The first place to ask where you should apply is your premedical advisor who, with a few years or more of experience, should have a fairly good idea of where you should, should not, or maybe apply. Two students could have identical numbers, but one might have something else going for him/her while the other does not.

The next place to get an idea where it might be reasonable to apply is the Medical School Admission Requirements, published by the AAMC. Each school gives statistics and other information to base a decision whether to apply or not. But here, the other variables that make a difference are usually so general that caution must be exercised. For one thing, they rarely will say that where you go to college makes a difference. If it didn't, why do so many premeds climb the walls to attend "prestigious" colleges? And then to attend "prestigious" medical schools?