How do you define life?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

How do you define life?

• They are alive so long as they have a pulse (I'm a premed)

Votes: 9 14.1%
  • They are alive so long as they have a pulse (I'm an allied health professional)

Votes: 3 4.7%
  • They are alive so long as they have a pulse (I'm a med student)

Votes: 1 1.6%
  • They are alive so long as they have a pulse (I'm a practicing physician or resident)

• They are showing signs of higher brain function/conscious thought (I'm a premed)

Votes: 24 37.5%
  • They are showing signs of higher brain function/conscious thought (allied health professional)

Votes: 5 7.8%
  • They are showing signs of higher brain function/conscious thought (I'm a medical student

Votes: 8 12.5%
  • They are showing signs of higher brain function/conscious thought (physician or resident)

Votes: 4 6.3%
  • Other (I'm a premed)

Votes: 4 6.3%
  • Other (I'm an allied health professional)

• Other (I'm a med student)

Votes: 2 3.1%
  • Other (I'm a practicing physician or resident)

Votes: 2 3.1%

• Total voters

DropkickMurphy

Membership Revoked
Removed
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
This came up in the physician assisted suicide thread and I was wondering how each of us defines the existence of "life"? When is someone no longer "alive" in the sense that you and I are?

Members don't see this ad.

By the way, I'd like if everyone actually posted with their opinion, not just voted. Thanks!

Physician assisted suicide should be legal in the entire country based on the Oregon Model.

At the end of the day the only person who should have the right to decide about your end of life issues is YOU.