• SDN Site Updates

Hey everyone! The site will be down for approximately 2 hours on Thursday, August 5th for site updates.

• How To ACE Your Medical School Interview

In this webinar hosted by SDN with experts from BeMo Academic Consulting, you will learn a simple five-step process to help you translate your interview invitation into an acceptance.

Munchkin6245

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Feb 28, 2004
WDM
Status (Visible)
  1. Medical Student
Hello everybody! Few questions and hopefully I will get some great advice...I'm a med tech in Houston, I did my undergrad at SWTSU '01 and my gpa was a 3.37...will be taking the April MCAT and currently taking prereq. at UH with a gpa of 3.65. I want to be a pathologist and have wanted to do so since my junior yr, which is why I chose MT for my degree. Anyways, I haven't applied to any US schools yet, will be this June, but it has been brought to my attention that I could start at a foreign school this August and not wait until August 2005 to marticulate. Should I take this risk and go for the foreign school and start a year early or should I wait and get into a US school, preferably one with a PSF in pathology. All your advice helps....so be completely honest how you feel. Thanks!

ioana

15+ Year Member
Oct 14, 2003
Status (Visible)
Go to a US Med School.... it will be much easier when you apply for a residency. In the last years the # of position in DO schools increased ..and I predict that in a few years there will be very few positions for FMGs citizens or not...You'll be under a lot of stress regarding USMLE scores as a FMG... if I would be you I'll wait and go for a US Med School...

yaah

Boring
Moderator Emeritus
15+ Year Member
Aug 15, 2003
Fixing in 10% neutral buffered formalin
Status (Visible)
  1. Attending Physician