How do you keep your motivation?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

cdm3413

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a pre-med student, and I was wondering how everyone keeps their motivation up? My grades are decent, I study and work hard, and I feel dedicated to my pre-med studies; however, when week 8, 9, and 10 roll around in the term, I just feel so burnt out and often find it difficult to push myself to continue to work hard how I was doing the preceding weeks.

tl;dr, How do you keep your motivation up regarding your studies? :sleep:

Members don't see this ad.

I'm a pre-med student, and I was wondering how everyone keeps their motivation up? My grades are decent, I study and work hard, and I feel dedicated to my pre-med studies; however, when week 8, 9, and 10 roll around in the term, I just feel so burnt out and often find it difficult to push myself to continue to work hard how I was doing the preceding weeks.

If I really need to get **** done, I stay the hell away from SDN. This forum is like a productivity vacuum.

Change of scenery can help when you're feeling burnt out. Usually study at the library? study at home, coffee shop, different academic building, whatever.

If you don't have any kind of routine, start one. If you do have some kind of routine, break it a little. The variety might keep you going.

Edit: Also, shadowing a doctor really helps me stay motivated. After spending a day with patients, realizing how little I know and how absolutely bad @ss medicine is, I always feel better about studying.

When I felt unmotivated, I would look at pictures of my parents or grandparents, and then proceeded to haul my round, muscular booty to the library.

Members don't see this ad :)