How hard is Physical therapy school?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mattiab3

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi there, I am currently an Exercise Science major (basically took all the Pre-PT classes).. completely nervous about PT school. I have the grades to get accepted (3.67 GPA currently) which is the average for accepted students in schools in Michigan. I am also a PT Tech, so I have good experience as well. However, I'm not sure how much harder PT school is. I usually took 1 hard class with 3 easy classes in undergrad which worked fine for me.

I found Physiology to be difficult and anatomy not so bad. I did good in Physiology, Kinesiology, Exercise Physiology only because I had fairly easy professors. But to be honest, I don't feel like I understand these subjects which is what worries me.

Anyway my questions are:

Do they usually help students who are struggling? And how do they help them?

Are there any options for tutoring available for students?

What is the best way to prepare? What are some important concepts to review before starting the program?

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Do they usually help students who are struggling? And how do they help them?
Usually, yes. If you go to a small program (say, 40 or fewer students), you are more likely to get personalized attention and help. Schools don't like to have students fail out as it looks bad for their program. This is even more relevant for small programs because even one single failure would make a relatively big impact, given the class size. "How they help" depends on the school. Ask the upper-class students at the school you'll go to.

Are there any options for tutoring available for students?