How likely is it to find a job working 40 hours a week?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

19pieces19

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello Radiologists,

I'm a med student who is interested in learning about the lifestyle of radiology. I know it's traditionally been a lifestyle field but things have been changing.

I would prefer to work 40 hours a week. How likely is it that I could find a position like this as an attending? I know there's always anecdotes of one doctor that makes a million dollars doing nothing, but I'm talking about the average radiology graduate with a fellowship - body, MSK, thoracic, etc. (not IR).

If 40 hours is highly unlikely, what about 50 hours a week? Is this something that's feasible? I get a sense that 60 hours is sort of the average right now, which is still a bit higher than I would prefer.

Members don't see this ad.

It's not like I can give you odds, but there are radiology jobs out there that fit your criterion, e.g. employee of a private practice, teleradiology, and even some academic positions. In a sense, overnight positions work very few hours per week, but only if you average things out over off weeks. You'll be limiting your options, of course, but it's not as if you're destined to be unemployed.

There are a good chunk of radiology jobs that are 1 week on and 2 weeks off. The one week on is usually nights and brutal. But... 2 weeks off.

If you are looking for lifestyle, go into derm, psych, pm&r, anesthesia.

Members don't see this ad :)
I am an attending radiologist. I think ~50 hrs/wk is more avg for daytime/nontelerads.

Exceptions:
- For private practice, some work part-time, but this seems to be mostly available to radiologists specializing in women's imaging.
- For academics, some have the option to work 4 instead of 5 days per week, for less money of course.

Bottom line:
Radiology is no longer a lifestyle field, but the pay is still very good.