How much debt are you in?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

medstudent87

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm in my second year of MS and feel like I'm in more debt than most other people because they're either going to cheaper schools or their parents are helping them out. I'm putting myself through med school without any outside help and I'm already $130k in the hole. Is that about normal? i predict I"m going to graduate with about $270k... :/

Members don't see this ad.

I'm in my second year of MS and feel like I'm in more debt than most other people because they're either going to cheaper schools or their parents are helping them out. I'm putting myself through med school without any outside help and I'm already $130k in the hole. Is that about normal? i predict I"m going to graduate with about $270k... :/

I'll be in for about $140-160k at graduation and I get zero help. No undergrad loans though.

I'll be in for about $140-160k at graduation and I get zero help. No undergrad loans though.

I don't have any undergrad loans either...that $130 after 2 years is just from tuition and living. How is your school SO cheap? Tuition alone at mine is $50k

Members don't see this ad :)
Wow, that's really good. Did you get scholarships or something? Our tuition is 34,000 and rising each year....

Wow, that's really good. Did you get scholarships or something? Our tuition is 34,000 and rising each year....
Tuitions vary wildly across state schools. Best example is Texas, where tuition is like 10k tops.

i'll be at around 130-150k upon graduation... coming in with 80k from undergrad. no help either

so....im screwed.
nah. loan forgiveness after 10 years assuming you work for those 10 years in a public field. i dont have all the details, but you might wanna check the financial aid forum.