How Much Do Medical School Rankings Matter?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

apooji

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello SDN!

I am currently a Pre-Med student strongly considering a career in military medicine and today
came across an opportunity at my undergraduate institution that allows students to commit to our
medical school 2 years early on scholarship (with free MCAT preparation as well), so long as students
commit to military service as well. The program sounds wonderful, right up my alley, as it is essentially analogous
to applying to medical school and applying to HPSP, but you instead get your medical school decision
during the fall of your junior year. Here's the kicker: our medical school is not ranked incredibly highly (top 100
but not by much), and I'm curious if I should instead just consider applying to a higher ranked medical school
and then to HPSP. When applying to residencies (especially military rankings), to what degree do medical school
rankings matter, and will choosing a lower ranked medical school during my undergraduate degree hinder my
ability to find staff positions in prestigious hospitals or possibly medical colleges in the future?

Thanks in advance!

Members don't see this ad.

Search on here. They’re everywhere

Reactions: 3 users
School rankings only matter to neurotic pre-meds. Whatever medical school you graduate from (and yes, even DO schools) you're still a doctor as long you get into a residency after. Better yet with Military residency match you're pretty much guaranteed a spot after you graduate medical school.

Reactions: 5 users
Members don't see this ad :)
^clearly it’s not just “neurotic premeds” if top residencies are filled with people from top schools

Reactions: 16 users
In terms of residency matching, what I tend to see represented in here and match lists is along these lines:

T5> T20 > basically every other MD > DO

Reactions: 1 users