How much does undergrad school matter?

This forum made possible through the generous support of
SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

jck16

Perpetual Student, OD, FAAOFAAO
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, I'm new to this forum, but it seems really useful from my browsings. I tried going to my college advisor, but she can only give me generalities. I heard that only one person in the class last year even considered a career in optometry, so there doesn't appear to be too much information available on campus. Currently, I'm a rising fourth year undergrad and seriously focusing my attention on this career path. I attend a pretty good university, but my gpa has suffered a bit from the pre-med classes I had to take (~2.72). I know I have to focus this last year on bringing that up (in addition to doing well on the OAT), but I am curious as to how much optometry schools factor in which college you went to.

Members don't see this ad.

jck16 said:
Hi, I'm new to this forum, but it seems really useful from my browsings. I tried going to my college advisor, but she can only give me generalities. I heard that only one person in the class last year even considered a career in optometry, so there doesn't appear to be too much information available on campus. Currently, I'm a rising fourth year undergrad and seriously focusing my attention on this career path. I attend a pretty good university, but my gpa has suffered a bit from the pre-med classes I had to take (~2.72). I know I have to focus this last year on bringing that up (in addition to doing well on the OAT), but I am curious as to how much optometry schools factor in which college you went to.

Dear JCK,