How much is enough studying for M1?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DocToBe2018

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have heard horror stories about the workload at the med school. Now that I'm an M1 at my top choice med school, I feel like I'm breezing by. One of the reasons is that I am worried about becoming a social outcast since I don't have any friends so I have been saying yes to almost all social calls (except the bar scenes since I don't drink). I go to sleep around 10. I attend classes every day from morning to around 5, which leaves me about an average of 3-4 hours of studying a day, sometimes less. I hear from my classmates that they are overwhelmed with the workload. But I'm studying way less than that of my undergraduate years. I got my first biochem test back and I scored 87 when the class median was 74 and H was 90+. I was very relieved. With the neuroticism of SDN, I feel guilty - there is a lurking feeling that I should be studying more and doing research, or God knows what else, etc. The other issue is complacence. I am worried that I will get into this habit of slacking off and solidifying this routine when the workload gets heavier and tougher. How do you gauge how much studying is enough?

Members don't see this ad.

Humble brag about your grades. Kudos. Simple solution: Don't get complacent, don't slack off, get the grade you want. Profit.

Reactions: 7 users
Happy with your grades? If so, then you're studying enough. At least for now. Titrate up/down as needed. The result is what matters, not how long it took you to make it happen. That said, give it a few more tests before deciding your current method is working.