How much is GPA considered

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Birdi

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a current undergrad sophomore that has had a rough couple of quarters causing my GPA to take a nosedive. I currently have a 3.11 after receiving a C in gen chem over the summer which brought my 3.5 down to a 3.2 and this quarter received a C+ in physics and a C in calculus, I've learned my lesson from taking four difficult core classes in one quarter and will not be doing that again. The only realistic way for me to bring my GPA up fast is getting straight A's the next few quarters and I'm not sure if that is possible with two quarters of ochem and physics left.

I know I still have a year and a half left before I apply but I'm worried that my low GPA is going to greatly affect my application despite extensive volunteer, internship, and research hours as well as being a board member for my pre-veterinary club.

Do you guys have any advice or reassurance to offer?

Members don't see this ad.

The only realistic way for me to bring my GPA up fast is getting straight A's the next few quarters and I'm not sure if that is possible with two quarters of ochem and physics left.
Get straight As the next few quarters. If you have extracurricular volunteering/etc interfering with your grades, back away from those experiences and focus on academics. Get tutoring, do whatever you need. Your GPA is the easiest way to get yourself quickly cut from consideration from schools, and experience hours only go up; GPA can go down. Lots of people get As in ochem and physics. These last semesters will make up your last 45 GPA which many schools look at separately. Do what you need to do to get your GPA up.