How much will you be in debt when you graduate pharmacy school?

LotusMarks

Membership Revoked
Removed
Sep 7, 2015
Status
Pharmacy Student
Just curious how much people are borrowing throughout their years in pharm school. I am estimated about 100k I will be in debt, is that average?

jasonkido

7+ Year Member
Jul 29, 2010
Status
Pharmacist
I was in debt back in 2010 for pharmacy school 54k. After i graduated in 2010 I rented an apartment and lived cheaply. Paid it off in 8 months.

Aug 31, 2015
Status
Pre-Health (Field Undecided)
I was in debt back in 2010 for pharmacy school 54k. After i graduated in 2010 I rented an apartment and lived cheaply. Paid it off in 8 months.
how was it so little? People are saying their loans are upwards of $200k. Where did you go to school? Where are you working?

Digsbe

7+ Year Member
Aug 6, 2011
Status
Pharmacist
$247,000 counting accrued interest.

Borrowed $25k for undergrad, went to a private pharmacy school which ironically was cheaper than going to the state school and having to pay for room and board. This was my cheapest option given the state I'm in (in state tuition is over $25k a year). When I started the PharmD program my tuition was near $34k a year, as I'm graduating it's $40k a year. Took out 45k or so each year to cover tuition and living expenses (gas, food, insurance, etc). I live at home with family to save on expenses and my family is not in a place to financially assist me (I'm grateful for a room, that's enough).

• Love
Reactions: Modest_anteater
OP
LotusMarks

LotusMarks

Membership Revoked
Removed
Sep 7, 2015
Status
Pharmacy Student
wow, thanks for all the responses

OP
LotusMarks

LotusMarks

Membership Revoked
Removed
Sep 7, 2015
Status
Pharmacy Student
I am currently borrowing 30k a year for tuition and got a 7000 merit based scholarship each year which i will use for living expenses!

romaniangirl

5+ Year Member
Jul 19, 2014
Houston, TX
Status
Pharmacy Student