Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

How much will you be in debt?

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by brandonite, Jan 25, 2002.

1. brandonite

Moderator Emeritus 7+ Year Member

Just read SMW's thread about FAFSA, and I got a bit curious... Exactly how much in debt do you expect to be in by the time you finish med school?

I couldn't qualify for financial aid at a US school, so I'd have to borrow the full amount. But I did my undergraduate degree debt free.

So, if I go to one of my dream schools (should I ever get an interview, ahem), I will be about $200,000 in debt when I graduate. Should I go to my school in my home province, I would qualify for financial aid (which is really good), and I'd only be about $30,000 in debt.

Amd I an idiot for even considering going away? I can't even begin to describe how much I would like to go to a Duke or a Stanford, but $170,000 is a lot of money!!!

So, how much does everybody expect to borrow between med school and undergrad??

Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. Lecular

Lecular Member
    7+ Year Member

If I go to my state school,
    I'd be about 8,000 in debt.

If I go to an out of state school, 80,000 in debt but I am hoping that scholarships and competitions will help bring it down lower.

Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. rajneel1

rajneel1 Senior Member
    7+ Year Member