How much will you be in debt?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

brandonite

Moderator Emeritus
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Just read SMW's thread about FAFSA, and I got a bit curious... Exactly how much in debt do you expect to be in by the time you finish med school?

I couldn't qualify for financial aid at a US school, so I'd have to borrow the full amount. But I did my undergraduate degree debt free.

So, if I go to one of my dream schools (should I ever get an interview, ahem), I will be about $200,000 in debt when I graduate. Should I go to my school in my home province, I would qualify for financial aid (which is really good), and I'd only be about $30,000 in debt.

Amd I an idiot for even considering going away? I can't even begin to describe how much I would like to go to a Duke or a Stanford, but $170,000 is a lot of money!!!

So, how much does everybody expect to borrow between med school and undergrad??

Members don't see this ad.

If I go to my state school,
I'd be about 8,000 in debt.

If I go to an out of state school, 80,000 in debt but I am hoping that scholarships and competitions will help bring it down lower.

i'm going to work my tail off in order to not have much debt. stanford is $70,000 and hopkins is $70,000. i'll probably try to cut costs, borrow books, TA, get research stipends, etc. anything helps. i feel your pain my friend. debt is not fun. my sister is going to have around $200,000 which will take her a long long time to pay off (i guess unless you are in some super money making speciality but it still takes a while i heard...around 7-8 years to pay off on average). i'm married, so when i get out i want to actually have a life and maybe a home or a car...

Members don't see this ad :)