1. Dismiss Notice
  2. Download free Tapatalk for iPhone or Tapatalk for Android for your phone and follow the SDN forums with push notifications.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Hey Texans—join us for a DFW meetup! Click here to learn more.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

how much would my EC's help?

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by heyou5432, Dec 6, 2008.

1. heyou5432

Pre-Medical
    i am a student athlete at an NCAA DI school. aside from having a decent GPA, how much do you think that would make a difference?

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. mmmcdowe

mmmcdowe Duke of minimal vowels
    Moderator Physician Gold Donor Classifieds Approved 10+ Year Member

Resident [Any Field]
    Of course, but if you have a 3.0 not really. If you have, say, a 3.7 then being an athelete is very, very favorable. What is your GPA.

4. BeardedRunner

7+ Year Member

Resident [Any Field]
    Being an athlete definitely helps, but you still need clinical and research experience to be a solid candidate.

5. alibai3ah

5+ Year Member

Pre-Medical
    Its a great EC, but it def does not compensate for a lack of clinical or research experience. It shows you are well rounded and not a book worm, but it does not really demonstrate any dedication to medicine.

6. Twiigg

Removed

Pre-Medical
    What sport if you don't mind answering?

I think being a student athlete is a great E.C. Congrats, OP. :thumbup:

7. GoSpursGo

GoSpursGo Allons-y!
    Administrator Physician 10+ Year Member

Fellow [Any Field]