How old is too old?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
K

kmmath

Would you say that there is a certain..cutoff age for applying to medical school? I just turned 30 (gasp, choke!!) but am considering holding off on applying until I am about 38 so that I can spend as much time as possible with my children during their childhood...any thoughts?

Kristen

Members don't see this ad.

Hi,

I started med school at 33. I am in my third year and will turn 36 this fall. I have a classmate that started at 48. She turned 50 during her second year.

Billie

Here is how you figure out whether or not you are too old to go to medical school.

First calculate your life expectancy:
http://www.msnbc.com/modules/quizzes/lifex.asp

Subtract your current age.
Subtract the number of years you have to spend in school if you do indeed need to do undergraduate work.
Subtract 4 years for med school. We should consider level of difficulty and there should be a stress coefficient. Here, we will use a 135% stress coefficient as to remain fair to all schools.
Subtract the number of years you plan on for residency.

Now, read the number. If it is greater than 1, you should go to med school. If it is zero or a negative number, you may want to consider something else.

Overview:

(Life Expectancy) - (Current Age) - (Undergrad Years) - (Medical School Years x 1.35) - (Expected Residency Years) = _____

Hmm..Let's see if I should go to medical school....

(75.69) - (19) - (2) - (4x1.35) - (5) = 44.29

I should go to medical school.

Admissions folks, take notice.

Have a good night.

------------------
Joshua Paul Hazelton, CNA, EMT-B
[email protected]
University of the Sciences in Philadelphia (2002)
"D.O. Wannabe"

[This message has been edited by JPHazelton (edited 06-28-2000).]

Members don't see this ad :)
Nice equation, where did you find it?