how to become nurses aide?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

jintonic5

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
how long does it take ? is it reasonable to think that i can get trained and work as one during my year off in between graduation and med school? if anyone knows i'd really appreciate it!

Members don't see this ad.

•••quote:•••Originally posted by jintonic5:
•how long does it take ? is it reasonable to think that i can get trained and work as one during my year off in between graduation and med school? if anyone knows i'd really appreciate it!•••••Training in the NYC area takes about 3-6 months and you can start working after you take the state exam and pass with your certificate. You can work with your license during your time off. I worked as an on-call NA during my first year of college.

Jintonic,

It is possible for you to work as a nurses aide during your year off. I did just that. Fortunately, my local community hospital trains its own nurses aides, and it takes less than a month to complete the training. However, I don't know of many hospitals that do that.
Note: I noticed that you are from Boston. The hospital I work at is 25 north of Beantown.
Good luck

Members don't see this ad :)
DancinDoc,
Which hospital did you work at? Cuz if it's part of a hospital group(like the way Faulkner hospital and Newton-Wellesley are together), i'm thinking that they may offer a similar program at a hospital closer to me...

another question, How's the pay? I definitely want the experience more than the money, but it's another factor to consider...