How to decide if EM is right for you?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

dkwyler94

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am about to start my third year rotations. I have had a lot of experience working in hospitals before medical school and have spent a fair amount of time getting hands on experience in school. I am fairly sure I want to do either surgery or emergency medicine, however I don't want to commit on anything until I have done a rotation in it.

My question is, my third year I don't have any electives and it appears most ERs don't let third year students rotate. I understand most of the fourth year audition rotations need to be set up several months in advance.

Would I need to decide before my fourth year what I want to specialize in so I can set up rotations. If so, how do you decide if EM is right for you.

A second question for you still reading. I am from the west and would ideally like to do my residency in the west as that is where I plan on practicing. I am a DO student from KCOM. Of course all the DO residencies are in the midwest or east. Does anyone know of any ACGME DO friendly EM programs in the west?

Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

First off, the nice thing about third year is that you have plenty of time to experience most fields of medicine before you start feeling the pressure to commit to something. While now you may think that you will either do EM or surgery, it is still quite possible you will find yourself attracted to an entirely different field. It is perfectly fine of course to think that you now know which two fields you have it narrowed down to, just be sure you give yourself an honest opportunity to judge all the other specialties with an open mind. You might surprise yourself.