How to gain research experience? (online student)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

stmorri

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Greetings all. Just discovered this site, read through many of the threads and found some great information.

Here is my situation: I am a senior in psychology and I will have my bachelor's this fall. My degree is online from the University of LA at Monroe. I plan to apply to several counseling (and probably Clinical) psychology PhD programs in Dec/Jan. I know that research experience is HIGHLY valued and sadly I have none yet. I have emailed three professors at a local university in Chattanooga but have recieved no replies yet.

Here is the one I just sent today. Feedback and not-to-harsh criticism is welcome.

Dr. Johnson,
I am a senior in psychology at ULM, completing my bachelor's degree this fall online. I live in the Chattanooga are and I am planning to apply to a PhD program in Counseling psychology. I am looking for an opportunity to gain research experience which will help make my application more competitive, as well as giving me insight into graduate research. I am willing to do any part of the research which I may be qualified for. I can perform data entry, PychInfo article searing, conducting classroom surveys or experiements, etc. I have a very flexible schedule this fall and a large amount of time to commit to this. I believe we have mutual interests in Counseling Psychology and Sports Psychology. I was particularly interested in your interest in athletes and doping. I am a avid marathoner and also used to follow the Tour de France when I was an amateur cyclist. I read Lance Armstrong's War which discusses the doping controversy prevalent within pro cycling.
I would be happy to provide a resume of my work experience and provide some academic references from ULM.
Please let me know if you wish to discuss this further.

Thank you for your time and consideration.