SDN members see fewer ads and full resolution images. Join our non-profit community!

How to get accepted to a DO school?

Discussion in 'Medical Students - DO' started by futuredocfromGA, Apr 3, 2001.

1. futuredocfromGA

futuredocfromGA New Member

Apr 2, 2001
    Barney, GA USA
    I graduated in 1999, from a small university in Georgia with a degree in Biology and a minor in Chemistry. My last year in school I completed a year of undergraduate research in Microbiology and published 2 papers, as well as taking a lot of upper division classes like Molecular Genetics, Histology, Virology and so on. Since then, I've been working in the ER at regional hospital here and in public health at the local health department. My GPA is 3.1 with a MCAT of 19. At the moment, I about to retake the MCAT and highest practice test score is 34. What are my chances of getting accepted to a DO medical school?

2. SDN Members don't see this ad. About the ads.
  3. drewdo

drewdo Senior Member 10+ Year Member

Mar 16, 2001
    Kansas City, MO
    Your chances are damn good.
    If you can get your MCAT above a 25-26, you'll have a very good chance of getting in somewhere. I suggest you apply to as many schools as possible (at least ten). Do not let the cost of applying hinder you in any way. Apply to both DO and MD schools, unless you are sure you want to go to one over the other (DO schools, it seems, like to see you apply only to DO schools, and they will ask at your interview!) Good luck! I had the same gpa as you, with similar other experience. I will be in school this fall! Concentrate on improving your MCAT :)

4. drchrislareau

drchrislareau Member 7+ Year Member

Apr 10, 2001
    Marcy, New York, USA
    Your chances look good, not just because of scores and grades but because you are working hard to get in.

Remember one thing I learned the hard way: if you don't get in the first year you try, apply the next year. One year won't make that much difference in your medical career.