MD & DO How to survive medical school after a break up?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

HistoryMD2015

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
My boyfriend broke up with me after almost 3 years. It was blindsided and there was no indications of unhappiness up until the very end.

Needless to say, I am devastated, broken and numb. However, I am a first year medical student and I’m just not sure how I’m supposed to get on with my life and finish the semester. I can’t I’m worried about my grades being absolute trash and messing with my chances of a good residency.

my family is 15 hours away and right now I just want to go back home. But I’ve worked so hard to get into medical school.

Does anyone have any advice?

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 users
Spend the time you would have spent with your SO with your friends and working on yourself. I reconnected with a lot of my long time best friends after i went through a break up last year, it helped more than anything. Seeing as youre very far away from home, just try spending more time with your friends youve made. If theyre med students that are open to studying together to that, youll be surprised how the occasional funny comment/banter break from silent study can help make you feel better. Find out what everyones doing after the next exam and tag along.

I found that when i was wifed up in preclinicals i either was with my SO or studying, and always turned down offers to go out/chill outside of school. My social life got so much better when i started allowing myself to spend my free time with friends and actually accepting invites to hit the bars after exams/just do fun nonschool things with classmates.