How vital is it taking two semesters of calculus?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

GregoryMD

EMT-B
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a freshman at University of Arizona, and I'm trying to make a decision of how far in math I want to go. I took Calculus I at a community college the summer before I started university. I got my credits for it and all, but it was a five week summer course with a foreign professor who really only confused me more than helped me. It's a wonder how I managed an A in that class despite not feeling comfortable with pretty much any calc concepts (Aside from maybe basic differentiation).

This poses some trouble for me in regards toward Calculus II. U of A doesn't exactly have the best math department. I've heard some horror stories that you would not believe. I considered taking Calculus II over next summer again, but I'm weighing some other options.

Are there a lot of medical schools that require absolutely two semesters of calculus? Would it be a major disadvantage in getting a decent school if I stuck with just one semester of calculus? To satisfy my major's math requirement (I'm a Physiology major), I need Pre-Calc and Calc. Since I already have Calc done, I was considering just taking Pre-Calc or checking with my advisor toward seeing if I can substitute in Statistics instead (To meet Johns Hopkins math requirements).

Members don't see this ad.

I wouldn't take Calc 2, personally. I think Harvard is the only school that requires it, and very few schools require calc at all. Most want you to have a semester of calc OR stats. Stats is the easier and more useful course, but if you already have Calc 1 under your belt, you're good. I don't know of any schools besides Harvard that actually require calc, but I'm sure there are at least a few.