Hypospadias Repair?

Discussion in 'Urology' started by VanDiemen, Dec 6, 2008.

1. VanDiemen

10+ Year Member

Resident [Any Field]
    Does anybody have any opinions on the current state of hypospadias repair in children/adolescents? From what I've seen in my limited reading (I haven't done any urology rotations), it seems like, in some cases, the surgeries done to correct hypospadias cause more problems than they fix. I talked to a patient today who had SIXTEEN surgeries before he was 20 years old. He said that it caused a major amount of suffering throughout his childhood, and he feels that he would have been better off without any surgical intervention at all. In some milder cases of hypospadias, is it better just to have no surgery?

2. beaverfetus

beaverfetus poo-tee-weet?
    5+ Year Member

Medical Student
    I'm just a medical student. however I had a clerkship with a pediatric urologist, and stayed at a holiday inn express.

From what I saw there were large differences in the severity of hypospadias. The variation I saw was basically how far distal the opening was. I did not see or hear of any complications in repairs, and the urologist never made a big deal about it.

3. Tori's dad

Tori's dad Member
    5+ Year Member

Resident [Any Field]