I absolutely hate being premed

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

biglad32

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm at the end of the line pretty much, some days I don't think about it and I'm fine, other days I am genuinely depressed about my situation.

I'm a sophomore in college and I've been premed from the start. Over the past few months I've realized I completely made the wrong choice when I picked premed bio as my major. I have stuck with it due to encouragement from my parents, friends, and advisors, but I do not enjoy what I'm doing, there is very little of it I find rewarding. I've maintained a 4.0 GPA since freshman year, which is one big reason I've stuck with premed as well.

I have never wanted to be a physician, I had a number of careers I wanted to go into before college but I chose premed due to fear, I was afraid of graduating college and being unemployed or losing my job in some sort of future recession if I chose a career choice that wasn't the creme de la creme. I very easily could have gone into engineering or something and it would have infinitely suited me better than premed biology.

I especially hate the aspect of premed that has to do with impressing med school interviewers. I have joined two clubs, been in the honors college since freshman year, and I have a shadowing position lined up, but I hate all these extra curriculars because they mean nothing to a person who isn't passionate about medicine, it's just extra work and extra social anxiety for me.

I don't really know what to do, drop the major and lose a massive amount of progress, respect from everyone around me, and potential (because I genuinely think I can get into med school)? Or do I wait it out until I learn to enjoy what I'm doing?

Members don't see this ad.