I am in a fix and need advice. Please help! =)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

phattestlewt

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello peoples

i have a very complex question on my hands right now and i need your help to do it. Cookies for the person with the most knowledgable answer.

So currently i am a freshman at UC irvine and next quarter is going to be my third quarter. And i had a question about what classes to take. So basically i am taking 4 classes next quarter. 2 english courses, 1 physics course, and 1 African American studies course. My question is about the physics course.

Let me tell you that i am a bio sci major planning on becoming a doctor. Now i went and saw my counselor and she said that bio sci majors don't take physics classes until their 3rd year on campus but she said if i was confident then i could go ahead and take it.

Now i am trying to organize all my courses from an MCAT study point of view so that the bio, chem, phys material is still relatively fresh in my head. Although i know i will have to review! By the end of this academic year i will have completed 2 bio classes, and the inorganic chem set. Next year i have some lower-div bio classes and OCHEM!

So from your guys' expertise do you think its wise for me to take Physics Electricity and magnetism, specifically, so early? Or do you think it does not matter? As of right now i haven't started prepping for the MCAT. I am focusing on school. But i have taken a practice MCAT (in 1.5 hours lol, i blew through the entire thing) just to get a feel for the formatting of the test.