1. Download free Tapatalk for iPhone or Tapatalk for Android for your phone and follow the SDN forums with push notifications.
    Dismiss Notice

I am not majoring in Science

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by KeyLime, Nov 14, 2000.

1. KeyLime

10+ Year Member

Hi-
    I am a 2nd year student at an liberal arts college in Iowa. I am majoring in psychology instead of in science.
    Is this going to harm my chances of getting into med school? I have always wanted to be a doctor, but I don't like the Biology classes at my school enough to devote most of my undergrad classes to it.
    What GPA does one need in order to get into an med school?
    I know that I will have to take Bio. I have already taken some Chem and Bio, and I have 3 semesters of chem and physics to go.
    Do med schools like to see most of their applicants come from science backgrounds?
    Thanks for the input-

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. lilycat

Moderator Emeritus 10+ Year Member

Attending Physician
    A lot of people successfully apply (and matriculate) coming from non-science backgrounds. Most adcomms tend to look at a somewhat nontraditional background favorably (although premed psych majors are not necessarily all that uncommon). Whatever your major, you need to do well in your premed classes to prove that you can handle the science work. As for GPA stats, probably the best thing to do would be to look at a copy of the latest MSAR guidelines (your undergrad advising office might have one), and check out the average GPAs and MCATs for the schools you might be interested in -- that should give you a good idea of the range you need to shoot for. If you haven't already done so, start looking for some clinical experience/volunteer work to give you a good feel for medicine. Plus, this kind of experience comes up over, and over, and over again on applications.

4. KeyLime

10+ Year Member

Me again-