I could get 3 glowing rec letters from pharmacists but none from a professor. Can I still apply?

Discussion in 'Pre-Pharmacy' started by atrinity001, 09.28.14.

1. SDN is made possible through member donations, sponsorships, and our volunteers. Learn about SDN's nonprofit mission.
  1. atrinity001

atrinity001

Some details about me:
    - Completed all pre-pharm prerequisites while in community college - got mostly A's for them. That's around 4-5 years ago.
    - Transferred to a university and earned my bachelors degree in biology- got a cocktail of grades from A,B,B-,C's lol :( Most of the classes are not prerequisites for pharm school though. I graduated 2 years ago.
    - Wasn't sure yet if pharmacy was for me so I neglected to get a rec letter from any of my professors
    - I started working as a pharmacy technician right after graduating. I got 2 years of experiences and now really sure that I would love to pursue pharmacy as my life-long career.
    -Emailed two possible profs to see if they can write me a letter of rec. One already responded no cuz it's been so long since I took his class. Other no response and it's already nearing the pharmcas deadline :(
    - The pharmacists I work with, all three of them, are willing to write me a glowing letter of rec. I can probably ask our district manager to write me one as well.

I could take another class at a community college this spring to get a letter of rec but that would mean waiting another year before I can apply. I kind of want to at least try this year but I'm not really sure if I am even qualified.

Has any of got accepted to a pharmacy school without a letter of rec from a professor? Should I even try applying this year or wait until next year?

Thank you so much for your inputs!

2. SDN Members don't see this ad. About the ads.
  3. romaniangirl

romaniangirl 2+ Year Member

Pharmacy Student