• Funniest Story on the Job Contest Starts Now!

Contest starts now and ends September 27th. Winner will receive a special user banner and $10 Amazon Gift card!

JOIN NOW
  • Site Updates Coming Next Week

Site updates are coming next week on Monday and Friday. Click the button below to learn more!

LEARN MORE

I don’t like my job and don’t know what to do

biomom

Jun 2, 2020
  1. Psychology Student
I was a premed many years ago. I got a masters in molecular biology, was accepted to a school and then found out I was pregnant. This predates MomMd. I was given a year off, but I stupidly did not go back. I taugh bio at a university and took more courses. I had the chance to apply again and was in full-time MCAT study mode. Then I was diagnosed with cancer. Two years later, I was better. I felt med school was over. I had wanted to be a psychiatrist so badly. I decided to get a PhD in Psychology. It still met my goals and passions. I was 2 years into the program, and my adult son’s life fell apart. He has autism, and his transition to adulthood is the worst thing I could’ve imagined. It meant working with the county, driving him to therapy, social workers etc. I had to become his guardian. The school allowed me to get my masters. I was very upset. I really don’t believe in mid levels because the education is just inadequate. You learn about theories, but don’t learn how to utilize any of them. Many of my masters level colleagues use dance therapy or theater therapy? They do not believe in diagnosing and usually give adjustment disorder. I don’t believe the DSM is perfect, but giving a good diagnosis helps with interventions and communication with other professionals. My opinion though. Basically, I would never take my child to someone with a masters. I feel like I just can’t work as I’m a fraud. We don’t live near my former University. What are my chances of getting into a doctoral program now? Maybe I really could train as a neuropsychologist.

Reactions: 1 user