I don't want to be a doctor

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Rbrav

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm about to head into my fourth week of the first year, and I'm absolutely miserable. I don't like the material (I was a chem major in college). I'm studying all the time. Whenever I try to have fun, I feel guilty for not studying. Etc. It's so bad that I've been calling my parents almost every night and talking to them while crying (and I'm a guy!).

Part of this is the normal adjustment period, I think -- new town, new people, new to living alone, couple of hours away from my friends and girlfriend. The big reason, though, is that I'm pretty sure I don't want to be a doctor. I've known it for years, but I always tried to ignore or deny that fact. I've shadowed doctors, etc., and just not been too interested. Medicine is simply not calling me.

So why did I go to medical school? Partly to please people -- I've always been an overachiever. And yes, there are many doctors in my family, though they never actively pushed me to medicine. The other thing, though, is that I don't know what else I'd do with myself. There are plenty of things I like, but not many I could turn into a career. I think I'd want to write or edit, but I don't have much formal training, so that would also mean more school, and of course, salary and job security are far worse than that for doctors (something my mother has repeatedly pointed out).

I've told my parents I'll stick out the year, but I don't know if I can even make it that far. I've already wanted to quit a dozen times. I've never struggled like this before. I'm always tired, anxious, and unhappy. And, there's no light at the end of the tunnel if I don't want to be a doctor. There's nothing to motivate me.