I have a problem with memorization

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PatoKw

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everybody,

So this is my first post and I joined today to show you guys my problem with medical school and of course I am seeking help.

Optional read> ( the system of medical school in my country ): in my country, we only have 1 college for medicine and it consists of dentistry, pharmacy, and medicine.

The medicine system ( 7 years total ) consists of 3 phases:
Phase 1 - Pre-professional
Phase 2 - Basic Science
Phase 3 - Clinical Phase.

Going back to my problem. so I am a first year medical student and I just finished the first semester which had Biophysics-chemistry ( just basics and applications )-English 181-PC on medicine-elective: media

So my problem is with memorizing!
I know the memorizing techniques such as visualizing, imagination and etc...
but, my problem is that I don't know how to insert the information into my mind.. so what I do, is repeat every single piece of information that requires memorization 3-4 times to not forget it, and this repetition is what made me suffer ever since high school.. it is so tiring and painful and it takes crazy amounts of time to finish studying. whenever it's not holiday time.. I barely have free time even if it's high school... so I am wondering how do ordinary people memorize? do they just read stuff for a single time and that's it? or do they just highlight or write down? so I think my problem is clear, it concerns insertion. Infact, all of the materials on my first semester were 90% understanding, still it takes me plenty of hours to cover the 10% left.

I believe that I still cannot tell If i have a good memory or not...

My question is, if you are studying for example chemistry and specifically Lipids and you have to learn this: