I have absolutely nothing to put on a CV and I'm in my third year. How can I get started?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

kelminak

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey there,

I'm in my third year now and I've done absolutely nothing other than pass my classes. I'm interested in doing Psych and want to be able to put anything on my CV as I realize it's going to be awful to have absolutely nothing to put on there. I haven't been part of any clubs, haven't done any research....nothing. I know I'm playing from behind at this point, so any advice as to where I could get started would be good. I have a decent step (231) and bad comlex (495) if that makes a difference regarding anything. Let me know if more information would be helpful.

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Join some clubs, and do some research? :shrug: Seriously, these things don't magically appear. The hardest part is just overcoming the momentum of doing nothing and putting yourself out there.

If your school has an interest group, join--a lot of the activities are kind of bogus, but it gives you something to talk about in your interviews and gives you access to mentorship through your department.

Research isn't necessary for psych, so if you don't want to do it you don't have to. But it's another avenue to get mentorship, and if you can see a project through to publication that's a really nice feather in your cap.

Reactions: 2 users
Join some clubs, and do some research? :shrug: Seriously, these things don't magically appear. The hardest part is just overcoming the momentum of doing nothing and putting yourself out there.

If your school has an interest group, join--a lot of the activities are kind of bogus, but it gives you something to talk about in your interviews and gives you access to mentorship through your department.