I have no clue what patient population I want to treat - Please please send help!! Any advice welcome!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PTstudent221

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone!

I am a 3rd year DPT student and always envisioned myself going into ortho, I have had 3 clinical rotations thus far (acute, acute with neuro focus, ortho/sports outpatient) I just finished the ortho outpatient clinical and was soooooo anxious and lacked a lot of confidence in treating these patients and Im now doubting myself in the ortho world. I enjoyed my neuro clinical but prefer the outpatient setting and im now considering to try to look into outpatient neuro or potentially inpatient neuro as a future. I keep finding myself going back and forth and honestly am completely conflicted. I don't want to write off ortho because I did enjoy the style of treatments and I like the manual aspect. I just felt like I had no clue what I was doing and that anxiety was extremely unsettling.

Its time to pick my last clinical and have no clue what to pick, Inpatient neuro, outpatient neuro, outpatient ortho.

Please if anyone has any advice or words of wisdom I would really appreciate it because Im so confused and feel completely lost.

Members don't see this ad.

Was there something about your clinical that caused the anxiety- high patient volume, not a great CI, etc? I'd be tempted to say do another outpatient ortho clinical to try it out again and get more guidance to see if under a different clinic/CI, you'll grow your confidence.

Was there something about your clinical that caused the anxiety- high patient volume, not a great CI, etc? I'd be tempted to say do another outpatient ortho clinical to try it out again and get more guidance to see if under a different clinic/CI, you'll grow your confidence.