I just want to know that i'm not alone...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DrReginaDO

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
So i read a bit of the "quitting" thread, and its nice to see that i'm not the only intern that is depressed and thinking of quitting. Of course, being 250K in debt doesnt help the fact that if i did quit, i would live the rest of my life as a hobo...ha.
A little back story. I'm an EM intern at a trauma one center in the Bx. When i'm on my EM rotations, i am very happy. I truely made the right choice in what specialty is for me. But, as an intern we also do other specialities (of course), and i really had a rough time with OBGYN and now i'm on ICU and really depressed. The hours are horrible...work is still mainly scut, and i feel that i don't know anything, and the worst part is that i'm not learning. Of course an attending with throw out a tid-bit of insight here and there...but for the most part i feel like i'm filling out paperwork all day and night.
I might just be complaining, and i do just need to vent. But, when i vent to family, or non-medicine friends...its all "but youll be making $$$ eventually so just deal with it". Its not the lack of compensation that is the problem...and its histerical that i saw a security guard in the elevator the other day and during small talk, i told him that i was on 24 hour call and he actually thought i would get a huge paycheck becuase of it (i then explained that i was on salary, not hourly...so sad). It mostly the lack of anytime to myself, or even to spend time with family. Lunch consists of rushing just to get 10min to throw food in my mouth (and then have a lovely case of GERD), and then right back to work. Also, i'm sick right now and with any other job, you can use a sick day....no as an intern/resident...who else would do the scut work that is so needed...