I just want to Pass-how much do I need to study?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

coastal

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Quick question. I'm a Canadian Ortho resident and may end up doing fellowship(s) in the States. Do you think it's reasonable to cram for 2-3 weeks and pass Step I? Score doesn't mean a thing, just need to pass.

I'm not concerned about II and III as they are similar to our licensing exams.

Thanks in advance for your replies. Cheers.

Members don't see this ad.

If the score really means nothing, take an NBME practice test. You might not need to study at all.

definitely possible, this exam is designed so that it's hard to fail unless u really tried. getting a 250+ is another matter, contrary to what you may believe after reading this board (where everyone has 260+)

definitely possible, this exam is designed so that it's hard to fail unless u really tried.

That's an absurd overstatement. Most folks need to study for this test. If you study hard, you tend to do well. If you don't study hard, then yeah, failing is a real possibility. Bear in mind that the folks like this dude who is saying how easy it is probably studied intensely for 6 weeks. If you do that, then yeah, you should pass no problem.

I would suggest that the further out of med school you are, the more you probably will need to study because this test really tests on second year material, which you tend to forget quite rapidly.

Members don't see this ad :)
If the score really means nothing, take an NBME practice test. You might not need to study at all.

Great advice.

Take a NBME practice test and see where you stand pre-studying. Then take it from there. G'luck.

I would suggest that the further out of med school you are, the more you probably will need to study because this test really tests on second year material, which you tend to forget quite rapidly.