I keep getting 8s on EK Verbal

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

axp107

UCLA>> Italian Pryde
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I did the first 2 EK Verbal tests in 1001 passages and got 8s on them. I just started studying for the MCAT. Got exactly 20 questions wrong out of 60 on both of them. AHHH! Why are these tests designed in such a way that you get the SAME score each time.

However, I took AAMC CBT 1 (the free one) and got a 10 on Verbal. Except that probably means nothing since its the easiest one lol.

I've got 3 months until the MCAT (August 20th).. possible to bring those 8s up to maybe 12s?

Members don't see this ad.

Not to be a downer, but my EK scores were 9's and 10's. My scores on the AAMC exams seemed to slowly go downhill and I think its because I didnt do it every single day. If I have to take the MCAT again, I am doing at least 5 VR passages a day EVERY day for 3 weeks. So my advice is to not slack off at all, keep hammering away and your score will stay consistant at the very least.

The first passage, I did in december just for fun.

The second one, I did again just yesterday for fun. Got the same score... hoping it goes up somehow

well, on the first try, you just scored the national average of the scores of people who actually studied for the MCAT...
Dont worry, you'll get better...much better...

Members don't see this ad :)
EK verbal really annoys me..there are certain signs of wrong answers that arent preserved in EK verbal.

For example, AAMC rarely uses extreme or absolute wording yet EK does it left and right.

Also, EK seems to expect you to really make assumptions about the author that would be OOS for aamc verbal.

EK verbal makes me mad.