I lost my DO LOR...now what?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Chromatic543

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have been shadowing a DO For several months now, and he had agreed to write me a letter of recommendation. Now that I actually need the letter, he said he can't write the letter because he has a lot going on. I am now in a statw of panic because I only have three letters (two science professors and one non-science professor), but I can also get an MD letter. I just heard that DO letters were stronly recommended, and I'm afraid that it can really kill my application. What should I do?

Members don't see this ad.

This is risky but maybe offer to write the letter yourself? He can read it over and sign it?

Reactions: 1 user
I have been shadowing a DO For several months now, and he had agreed to write me a letter of recommendation. Now that I actually need the letter, he said he can't write the letter because he has a lot going on. I am now in a statw of panic because I only have three letters (two science professors and one non-science professor), but I can also get an MD letter. I just heard that DO letters were stronly recommended, and I'm afraid that it can really kill my application. What should I do?

Having an MD letter instead of a DO letter is absolutely in no way, shape or form a detriment to your application.

Most DO schools no longer have a rigid DO letter requirement and allow MD letters just the same.

I had an MD letter and I received numerous DO IIs and ultimately an acceptance to my #1.

Reactions: 1 users
Members don't see this ad :)
I would ask him if you can just write it for him to sign off on. While I agree that having a MD instead of DO letter won't necessarily be detrimental to your application, having a DO letter will help you. Shoot for birdie, not par.