I mean, what happens if I don't get accepted...?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

HopefulOP

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I just ended my Freshman year of college and although I've always wanted to be a doctor, I'm just now really diving into the statistics regarding medical school. Luckily, earlier in life I've had some experiences where I beat the odds and everyone's expectations so I have the confidence and will to attack this task, but these statistics left me wondering... I see statistics where very high GPA and decent MCAT applicants only have a 50/50 chance of getting into medical school. And I guess I'm wondering what happens to these people who have slaved the past few years to get this far. I get the impression DO med schools tend to opt for more mature (with life experience) students who are usually older than the general MD student so is that what a majority of these students do? Buckle down on experience and apply to a DO in a few years?

I'm not really worried or nervous (that will come in time), I'm just curious what all of y0ur thoughts on this were. Are there any statistics out there? These are motivated, intelligent individuals. I just want to know what happens to the rest of these applicants.:eyebrow:

I'm just curious so feel free to post personal experiences, backup plans, etc.

Members don't see this ad.

what statistics are you referring to? I saw a table floating around that said if you have a 3.7 and a 35 you have a 80-90% chance of getting in somewhere. Those are achievable numbers if you work hard and stay focused

what statistics are you referring to? I saw a table floating around that said if you have a 3.7 and a 35 you have a 80-90% chance of getting in somewhere. Those are achievable numbers if you work hard and stay focused