I need advice in regards to getting My application improved for 2021-2022 cycle

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

neuda17

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello Everyone, I apologize for the broken grammar in advance ( no, I had my personal statement edited a lot)

here are my stats

Born and raised in Iran till the age of 13. Then moved to Ohio

GPA: 3.34 sGPA:3.0 MCAT: 507 (127-121-29-130)
2 years of research with Kids with autism, 100 hours of shadowing at the Emergency department of my local hospital, 1 year of work at an optometry clinic, and 4 years as a Pharmacy Technician.

I am 26 and I graduated from OSU Back in 2016. English is my second language. I applied to MD/DO schools 3 times and did not get an acceptance. I got an acceptance to Tufts MBS program for 20-21, and I am questioning that as it is a minimum of 58k for one year and that is a lot of money!

That is why I am here. For the next year, what can I do to make my application more competitive? If I do not do the MBS program, is there any other way to increase my GPA? I am in need of new Letters of recommendation too since the current ones are pretty outdated. Any suggestions on alternate ways other than the MBS program?

MED school is my dream and unfortunately, I was not very mature during undergrad.... I am afraid that I am getting a bit too old..

Thank you in advance

Members don't see this ad.

Your CARS score is 3 SD below mean; i.e., You'd have a hard time understanding your lectures/ppt in med school.

Your CARS score is 80% of the reason you're unsuccessful. Many MD schools have screening filters for any subsection score under 125, so with a 121, it means that many schools aren't even looking at your application. I'm not sure what it's like for DO schools, but I'd imagine they also have a cutoff a couple points lower. The absolute best thing you could do is try to retake your MCAT, emphasizing CARS.

Kevin W, MCAT Tutor