1. The SDN iPhone App is back and free through November! Get it today and please post a review on the App Store!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Dismiss Notice
  3. Guest, be sure to check out How To Get Into Dental School, our free downloadable PDF with step-by-step details for dental school applicants!
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

i need some advice - computer froze !

Discussion in 'DAT Discussions' started by kliz, Dec 3, 2008.

  1. kliz

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Status:
    Pre-Dental
    Hey guys, so while I was doing the RC section on my DATs yesterday my computer froze and wouldn't let me answer the rest of the section. I believe I was in #26? So I notified the proctor and everything but they couldn't do anything for me. They said to call the prometric center and see what they can do. So i did this and then they told me to call ADA, as well. Basically, ADA told me that they would give me a retake. But I really don't want to do a retake, because I am happy with my scores and all my scores went up from the first time I took it. I was just wondering if you guys have any opinion or suggestions on what I should do. I called up schools and they told me that I can email them or send them a letter saying that the computer froze during my test, and some said I need to give a reason on why I wouldn't want to retake it. I don't know what to do! Please help! I'm in panic mode!!!

    Well, These are my scores


    First Dat Second DAT
    BIO 17 20
    GCHEM 19 20
    ORGO 23 20
    PAT 17 21
    QR 18 19
    RC 18 15 ---> :(

    GPa 3.3 goes to stony brook. what to do ? what to do? Help!

    Thanks !!!
     
  2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

  3. Flipper405

    Flipper405 "Excessive" flosser
    Dentist 7+ Year Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    673
    Likes Received:
    1
    Status:
    Dentist
    I would say it depends when you would be able to retake. If it would be immediately, then I would do that... to be honest, with your GPA, you don't need any sections that are low. You have a legit excuse for that RC, but it just makes things harder. If you would have to wait any significant amount of time for the retake (more than a week), I would try to go with the current scores. Tough situation to be in... good luck regardless.

    edit: disregard all that if you are not applying this cycle... I couldn't tell if that's the case
     
  4. kliz

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Status:
    Pre-Dental
    yes, i am applying this cycle.

    Thanks for your advice, I called ADA up again and they said that processing will take 2 weeks, and plus I would have to schedule with prometric again, and I think it will take more than 2 weeks for me to retake the test again.

    I called the prometric site and they said all they can so is write an apology letter stating that this happened during my test. I just don't know where to go from here. It is so late in the cycle, I just don't know what to do.

    But thanks for the advice anyway!
     
  5. Sublimation

    5+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Messages:
    574
    Likes Received:
    0
    Status:
    Pre-Dental
    I would take the retake, if you can get 20's in ur sciences then ur good to go, and you shoudl have no problems come test day. Gluck on ur test. AND REMEMBER. Its all about confidence. You will do fine.
     
  6. myair

    5+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Status:
    Dental Student
    I would not retake. I just faxed my DAT with the letter to schools and e mail ALL of the schools to make sure they recieved the letter w/ ure scores. I elieve u will be fine this way .

    what ever you'll do, good luck to you.
     
  7. doc3232

    7+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2008
    Messages:
    3,809
    Likes Received:
    9
    Status:
    Dental Student
    So what did you do for the rest of RC?
    Your comp froze but what happened after that?
    You only answered 26 questions but still got a 15.
     
  8. ZenoVT

    ZenoVT Power Ranger
    2+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    0
    Status:
    Pre-Dental
    I would just retake it. Considering how much info you retained since the test, you could actually do better because you could get some more studying in with this extra time. The only wildcard sections are Bio and RC, and I definitely think you could improve your RC scores considerably!
     
  9. IWantSmile

    5+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2008
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    0
    Status:
    Dental Student
    I agree with you. I had an exactly same problem. My computer froze middle of RC, I moved around to different computer guided by proctor. Finally I could not continue because computer did not accept my answer. They eventually turned my computer off. No QR at all because RC section wouldn't move on. 3 days later I took DAT with different version.

    You are so lucky to have all of DAT score out. I do not know how you did but it is good sign.
    If you want to talk about this to the admission then do not sound like a one of excuses. Express with a strong and positive attitude , you have to.
     

Share This Page