I need some advice from everyone

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mnykr

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I want to start this year strong (as we all do). I had some major set backs in the last two years and I am ready to get back on the horse. Even though I lost some time.

A little info about me. I am 34 and live in GA. I have a masters in chemistry from UF and did most of my work for my phd (my heart just wasn't in it, I wanted to do more to help people).

After meeting a family who had several pharmacists, they showed me that pharmacy would interest me and so I set out to look at taking the pre reqs (for college of the south) and the PCAT.

I am not so much worried about the PCAT. Although I teach, I am still very active as a chemist. I am good at math and chemistry. I even run a free chemistry homework help website www.mychemistrytutor.com

So I began taking my classes to get in South. I need A&P I and II and Speech, maybe a World Lit. Now you might imagine this was tough for me , not because of the subject matter but simply because I have studied advanced thermo and quantum mechanics and do research in nanotechnology. It was an ego hit to go back and have to take a speech course (not to mention I have taught classes of 300 folks).

Well in the middle of taking a sememster course that would give me credit for A&P I&II , my colon tore. Out of no where. Just hanging out one night and the next morning a divertuculi burst (yes at age 34) and I was sepsis and in ICU etc. Then had to wait a few months to have surgery etc

OK all that is behind me it is a new year. Suffice it to say my thoughts of pharmacy school was on the back burner.

Now I am hoping you can give me some advice and inspiration.

If I want to get in the pharmacy school (I still have to take PCAT) as soon as possible what are my options?

I know some schools might have prereqs and some don't.