I Need some advice..

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

peacelove0813

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,
I am an undergraduate student in u of t life science program and I have just finished my first year..
Unfortunately, my cGPA got crushed into 3.41..
I heard some scary stories that if I do not succeed in first year, the admission will not look at the application..
Also, how is the probability for me for getting into med school..??
BTW I do not care whether it is Canadian or U.S med school..
I really want to pursue my career as a doctor, but I also want to know my chances..

Please give me some suggestions..:(
Thank you so much in advance..

Members don't see this ad.

First of all, relax. One year at 3.4 definitely won't be the end of you. You have plenty of time to bring up your GPA to where it needs to be. 1st year of college is actually the most forgiving year because admissions committees understand that the jump from high school to college can be a difficult one. They like to see improvement in the form of an upward trend in grades. It is an exercise in futility to try to predict your chances at getting into medical school at this point because so much can happen between now and then. Just do your best to improve your GPA, get involved around campus in various activities, and for goodness-sake, enjoy life a little.