I Need Some Advice!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

RedRaider

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I've finally graduated with my BA and the post college world sucks. I'm trying to figure out how I can possibly get into medical school, preferably DO schools. My AMCAS cgpa is a 2.71 and my DO cgpa is a 2.86 with a 3.05 sgpa. I'll be honest my undergrad record sucks! Lots of withdraws and retakes, and I have limited clinical experience. Unfortunately I just wasn't that committed to college when I first started. But oh well there's nothing I can do about that now is there. Anyway I'm thinking of heading back to the good old alma mater to get a second degree in Biology. I can also get some good premed exc's done there and get a few lor's. However I am very unsure about this plan. I did some math and factored in an overly optimistic scenario in which I make 96 hours worth of all A's and my DO gpa only goes up to a 3.37.... The stress and ambiguity is killing me! Is the dream dead? I'd appreciate any advice. I'd love to hear some success stories people who had similar experiences. I'm worried some heartless adcom is gonna shred my application :(

Members don't see this ad.

Whoops, sorry I just realized that I posted in the wrong forum.

I'd also look at post baccalaureate programs as another option. They sometimes have an entire pre-medical board dedicated to creating a recommendation packet for you. They also will help you with studying for the MCAT's.